For her dad

It was seven years ago today that I looked at a guy I’d known platonically for years, and suddenly realised that I found him completely irresistible. All of a sudden, I couldn’t get enough of him. And so I plunged headlong into the relationship that would become the most thrilling, eye-opening, rewarding and constant one I’ve ever had with another person.

We’ve had more than our share of impossibly perfect moments together, but it’s not been a fairy tale. It’s been work – at certain times more than others – but anything worth having is worth working for. Our getting, being and staying together has been a decision. We didn’t just ‘happen’ to each other; we’re not together because we’re ‘meant to be’; we’re together because we’re each other’s favourites. We’re best friends; we never run out of things to talk about; we respect and trust each other above everyone else; and I keep loving him more and more as the days and weeks and years go by.

When it dawns on me that, in just under seven weeks, we’ll finally get to hold this baby, who has half his DNA and half of mine, I can barely contain myself.

And I wish for two things: that she’ll find someone who is to her what Dylan is to me. And that she’ll be just like her dad.

 

I was pregnant here. We just didn't know it yet.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • What’s been on My Bump

  • Behind the bump

