Holy sh*t! It worked!

Dylan and me, we’re a couple of the lucky ones. We actually managed to make a baby exactly when we wanted to. I had What to Expect When You’re Expecting on my Kindle (just FYI, navigation is a nightmare; this is one book that should definitely be used in paperback – it’s one of them ‘wristflickers’), I was taking big pink mumsy vitamins, and Dylan was pretty keen to become a dad sometime soon – so,ย  basically, we were mentally and physically prepared when the fancy pregnancy test told me I was 5 weeks along.

But, somehow, I was totally and utterly floored, my gast was completely flabbered, I was dumbfounded on that Thursday morning when the test came out positive. Because it’s supposed to take longer than four months, isn’t it? We’re both under 30 but we’re not in the fecund bracket of under-25s. Not that Dylan’s age matters that much – we all know that it’s women’s junk that goes bad as they get older, and that men can father babies when they’re in their 50s – but, at 27, I wasn’t at the risk-of-junk-going-bad age myself. And we’re both ‘healthy’: the non-smoking, wine-with-dinner, exercising types.

Still, I thought we might only manage it sometime early next year – that we’d go through months of perfectly timed shagging and negative tests and disillusionment.

But we didn’t, and I’m still trying to get over how awesome that is.

Once it had sunk in that there was a little creature somewhere behind my pubic bone (nowhere near where I thought it would be), I was convinced that it would disappear somehow. My cousin has Hugh’s Syndrome and had a handful of miscarriages – and she was in that fecund zone at the time – before she was diagnosed. So I was convinced I had it, too. My pragmatic GP thought I was insane when I rocked up in her office and rattled off all the reasons I was convinced that I would miscarry the little thing, and, to her credit, took my concerns semi-seriously.

But I was fine, and The Lime (according to the BabyCentre email updates I get, that’s how big the little thing is now – the size of an American lime – it’d be great if I had an inkling of how big that was) is fine, too. At the 12-week fetal assessment, which is awesome, we saw that she’s a she, and that she’s got fingers and thumbs and toes and eyes and little legs crossed at the ankles. This is miraculous. I’m not even exaggerating.

While I’m not the first woman to fall pregnant, no amount of reading material or gushing pregnant friends prepared me for how amazing I would think this whole thing is. I made it through 12 weeks of evening-nausea (‘morning sickness’, pah!), turning down alcohol, bone-deep tiredness and being even more grumpy than I usually am, and somehow The Lime figured out how to get her own heart beating and how to roll around in her watery cocoon. And how to drink her own wee. Even in the womb, babies are a little disgusting.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Des

     /  October 12, 2011

    So miraculous, and so exciting for us all! Oh my gosh, she has Dyl’s haIr and Miche’s eyes and feet and on and on, but you know what, the time flies. Today I saw my baby walk beneath the school tower and onto a new life of his own, cherish each and every moment, they will pass in a flash!

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Des. Such a special comment! Let’s just hope the poor thing doesn’t get lumped with my feet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Lia

     /  October 14, 2011

    So much of this resonates with me, and even more makes me so grateful I didn’t experience the nausea or food issues! I think I’ve already put on weight (& I’m a few wks behind u!) cos of all the nutrients I’m trying to make sure I get ๐Ÿ˜‰ At shops yesterday I couldn’t resist a few lovely clothing items on sale that looked like they could accommodate a bump… so exciting! Look forward to bump beach walks with you cuz xxx

    Reply
    • hooray for babies, Lia! I swear you didn’t feel ill because yours is a boy – my ob/gyn swears by her theory that boys make you tired and girls make you sick! (mine must be a bit of both in that case). Hooray! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Linda

     /  October 19, 2011

    Lol re babies being disgusting! They do compensate for this in other ways, though…

    Reply
  5. Linda: I hope so. i just read that The Shrimp is now covered in hair. Ew! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • What’s been on My Bump

  • Behind the bump

